Space Oddity artwork
«Back to Main Menu

Space Oddity

Originally released in 1969, Space Oddity was a giant leap forward in terms of songwriting for Bowie and can be considered as the first truly essential David Bowie album. Noted for a list of collaborators, including session players Herbie Flowers, Tim Renwick, Terry Cox and Rick Wakeman, the album delves into psychedelic folk-rock, as well as prog, with its genre-defying template creating a blueprint of what would become over the next decade and more, one of the most inimitable British artists.

Now available as a 2CD 40th Anniversary Limited Edition.

CD 1

  1. Space Oddity
  2. Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed
  3. Letter To Hermione
  4. Cygnet Committee
  5. Janine
  6. An Occasional Dream
  7. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
  8. God Knows I'm Good
  9. Memory Of A Free Festival

CD 2

  1. Space Oddity (demo)*
  2. An Occasional Dream (demo)*
  3. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (single B-side)
  4. Let Me Sleep Beside You (BBC Radio session D.L.T. Show)
  5. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed (BBC Radio session D.L.T. Show) *
  6. Janine (BBC Radio session: D.L.T. Show)
  7. London Bye Ta-Ta (stereo version)
  8. The Prettiest Star (stereo version)
  9. Conversation Piece (stereo version) *
  10. Memory Of A Free Festival (Part 1) (single A-side)
  11. Memory Of A Free Festival (Part 2) (single B-side)
  12. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (alternate album mix) *
  13. Memory Of A Free Festival (alternate album mix) *
  14. London Bye Ta-Ta (alternate stereo mix) *
  15. Ragazzo Solo, Ragazza Sola (full length stereo version) *

*previously unreleased